Sao Paulo, Brésil - Moins de viande, plus de vie - Greenpeace - Moins de viande, plus de vie - Greenpeace

Sao Paulo a le plus vaste systéme scolaire au Bresil. Quand le secrétaire d’Etat a l’éducation a décidé, en 2016, de participer aux « Meatless Monday » (la campagne Meatless Monday invite les populations des quatre coins du monde à ne pas manger de viande un jour par semaine), cela a eu un impact important sur 1,7 millions d’étudiants . Cela représente 3,4 millions de repas végétariens par mois, ce qui fait 1 530 tonnes de viande en moins par an!

Les cantines scolaires servent ce jour-là une version vegan de la traditionnelle feijoada brésilienne, avec des haricots noirs, du riz, du chou frisé et d’autres légumes. Ainsi, les enfants mangent un plat végétarien mais familier.

Prochaine étape ?

São Paulo a démontré qu’elle réalisait de gros efforts pour proposer des repas à base de produits végétariens à sa population. Pour aller un cran plus loin, la ville pourrait organiser deux journées végétariennes hebdomadaires dans toutes les écoles. Ce qui ferait plus de 13 millions de repas végétariens par mois !

Greenpeace met les villes au défi d’être exemplaires dans la réduction de la consommation de viande pour protéger le climat, les forêts, l’eau et la santé humaine. Dans le but de réduire la consommation et la production de viande de moitié d’ici 2050, nous demandons aux municipalités de commencer par proposer deux repas végétariens par semaine dans toutes les cantines publiques à l’horizon 2020.

Passer à l'action

Vous ne voyez pas votre ville ? Alors rejoignez-nous pour faire pression sur votre ville et en faire une bonne élève. Inscrivez-vous et recevez notre boîte à outils qui explique comment faire pour que votre ville soit sélectionnée pour apparaître sur notre carte ou bien pour la pousser à changer ses mauvaises habitudes.

Merci d'avoir rejoint le mouvement.


Un problème est survenu lors de la soumission de vos informations. Veuillez réessayer.

Join the movement

Sao Paulo, Brazil - Less Meat More Life - Greenpeace - Less Meat More Life - Greenpeace

Sao Paulo has the largest school system in Brazil. So when the State education secretary decided in 2016 to participate in Meatless Monday twice a month, it had a huge impact (Meatless Monday is a campaign to get people around the world to go meat-free one day a week) reaching 1.7 million students. That’s 3.4 million vegetarian meals a month, and cuts 1,530 tons of meat out every year!

The schools serve a vegan version of the classic Brazilian dish, feijoada, with black beans, rice, kale and other vegetables. So students get something that is both familiar and vegetarian.

What’s next: Sao Paulo has shown that it is committed to making plant-based meals available to its residents. To get this commitment to the next level, they could try having two dedicated vegetarian days a week in all schools. That would be more than 13 million vegetarian meals a month!

What’s next?

Our supporters are challenging cities to race to the top on meat reduction to protect our climate, forests, water and human health. On the path of reducing meat consumption and production by half by 2050, we’re asking/challenging cities to begin with two dedicated vegetarian meals in all public canteens weekly by 2020.

Greenpeace’s global challenge:

Our supporters are challenging cities to race to the top on meat reduction to protect our climate, forests and water. We aim to have at least 20 cities commit to serving two vegetarian meals (no meat or dairy options) in all public canteens weekly by the end of 2018. We expect to have at least 100 global cities make this or a greater commitment toward less and better meat and more plant based meals by 2020.

take action

Are you ready to pressure cities, schools, universities and other public institutions to get serious about meat reduction? Sign up below to get a toolkit that will give you step-by-step instructions on how to get started in your local community.

If you sign up for the toolkit now, you’ll also get free veggie tips and recipes. And, if your city or institution is already embracing more plant-based meals, we’ll give you access to our nomination form so we can add them to our world map of leading cities.

Thank you for joining the movement.


There was a problem submitting your information. Please try again.

Join the movement